Javascript is currently not supported, or is disabled by this browser. Please enable Javascript for full functionality.

   
    Dec 11, 2019  
2019-2020 Undergraduate Catalog 
    
2019-2020 Undergraduate Catalog

Student Tuition and Fees



Student Accounting Services

Office of Student Accounting
Tampa Campus SVC 1039
4202 E. Fowler Ave ALN 147
Tampa, FL 33620
(813) 974-6056
FAX: (813) 974-3618
sfshelp@usf.edu
https://www.usf.edu/business-finance/controller/student-services/student-accounting/index.aspx

The Office of Student Accounting is here to serve the students who attend our university by maintaining accurate financial records and communicating with students concerning their accounts. Our department is primarily responsible for: tuition assessment, refund processing, recording of waivers, administration of the Florida Prepaid and third party programs, and daily communication with customers.

Florida Residency Classification for Tuition Purposes

Florida K-20 Education Code, Florida Statutes, section 1009.21 and University Policy/Procedure concerning Florida Residency for tuition purposes
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=1000-1099/1009/Sections/1009.21.html

In determining residency classification, students fall into one of two categories:

  1. Independent students - Students not claimed on parent’s or legal guardian’s federal income tax statement or whose parents do not provide 50 percent or more of their support.
  2. Dependent students - Students, regardless of age, who are eligible to be claimed as dependents by parent or legal guardian on federal income tax statement or whose parents provide 50% or more of their support..

Rental receipts, leases, employment records, tax returns, school/college records are NOT evidence of establishing a legal Florida residence. Students who are dependent on out-of-state parents or who come to Florida for educational purposes are generally ineligible for reclassification to Florida status. In rare cases, the law allows some students (e.g., military, public school teachers, etc.) who do not meet the basic requirements to be classified as Florida residents for tuition purposes.

The following persons may be considered for Florida residency for tuition purposes: U.S. citizens, lawful permanent residents, permanent resident aliens, or a legal aliens granted indefinite stay by the INS, and non US citizens as permitted by Florida statute. Qualifying independent students or a dependent students’ parents/legal guardians must establish and maintain a legal Florida residence for at least twelve months before the first day of classes of the term for which Florida residency status is sought.

The student is required to provide USF documentation of 12 months legal residence before a student is classified as a Florida resident for tuition purposes. A student is required to submit a Florida Residency Declaration and the documentation required by USF to establish Florida residency for tuition purposes no later than the fifth day of classes in the term for which the initial classification is sought.

The following is acceptable, non-conclusive evidence of the establishment of a legal residence in Florida. Two documents must be dated that they were issued at least 12 months before the first day of classes of the term for which Florida residency is sought for the initial classification.

Required Documentation

At least one of the two necessary documents must be from this list:

  • Florida Driver’s License
  • Florida Voter Registration card
  • Florida Vehicle Registration
  • State of Florida identification card
  • Proof of a permanent Florida home which is occupied as your primary residence
  • Proof of a Florida homestead exemption
  • Proof of permanent full-time employment in Florida (one or more jobs for at least 30 hours per week for a 12-month period; i.e. official employer letterhead) is required
  • Transcripts from a Florida high school for two or more years if the student’s Florida high school diploma or GED was earned within the last twelve (12) months

Additional Documentation may include:

  • A document evidencing verifiable family ties to a Florida resident, as defined by tuition purposes.
  • A declaration of domicile in Florida (the date that the Clerk of Circuit Court notes the declaration was established shall be 12 months prior to the start date for the term in which you are applying for consideration)
  • A Florida professional occupational license
  • Proof of Florida-based charitable or professional organization membership
  • Documents of evidence of Florida incorporation
  • Documents supporting the applicant’s claim of Florida residence status including, but not limited to, proof of 12 consecutive months of payment of utility bills, a lease agreement or official state, Federal or court documents depicting Florida legal ties
  • Documents that demonstrate verifiable family ties to a Florida resident, as defined by Regulation for tuition purposes.

For more information regarding residency for tuition purposes and residency tuition waiver exceptions visit: https://www.usf.edu/registrar/resources/residency.aspx or email residency@usf.edu.

For more information about exceptional categories, contact the Admissions Office (813-974-3350), the Office of the Registrar (813-974-2000), or the Office of the General Counsel (813-974-2131).

Change of Residency Status

Residency for tuition purposes is defined by state law. The University must adhere to the criteria set forth in Florida School Code (SB-20E) Section 1009.21 Florida Statutes (http://www.leg.state.fl.us). This statute applies to all institutions of higher learning in Florida. Staff at the  University of South Florida cannot make exception to the rules set forth by the state nor can staff make exceptions based on financial hardship or extenuating circumstances.

The Office of the Registrar (https://www.usf.edu/registrar/) must receive the student’s Request for Reclassification and supporting documentation no later than the end of the first week of classes for the term in which they are requesting reclassification.. Requests submitted after the deadline will be considered for a future term only. There are no exceptions to the mandated deadline for submission.

Requests to re-evaluate a student’s classification in a previous term will not be considered, except in cases of documented University error. If you have questions or concerns about your particular circumstances, contact residency@usf.edu.

Residency Reclassification for Current Students

If you believe you qualify as a Florida resident for tuition purposes, complete the Florida Residency for Tuition Purposes Request, attach copies of supporting documentation, and submit the package no later than the end of the fifth day of classes in the term for which you seek initial or reclassification. Original documentation must be available for review. Additional documentation other than what is described may be required by the University.

A Florida “resident for tuition purposes” is a person who has or a dependent person whose parent or legal guardian has established and maintained legal residence in Florida for at least 12 months. Other persons not meeting the 12-month legal residence requirement may be classified as Florida residents for tuition purposes in Florida only if they fall within one of the limited special categories authorized by the Florida Legislature and the Florida Board of Education. All other persons are ineligible for classification as a Florida “resident for tuition purposes.”

IT IS IMPORTANT TO KNOW:

  • The following persons may be considered for Florida residency for tuition purposes: U.S. citizens, lawful permanent residents, permanent resident aliens, or a legal aliens granted indefinite stay by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, and non US citizens as permitted by Florida statute.
  • Documents supporting the establishment of legal residence must be dated, issued, or filed 12 months before the first day of classes of the term for which reclassification is sought. All documentation is subject to verification.
  • Living in or attending school in Florida will not in itself establish legal residence.
  • Students who depend on out-of-state parents for support are presumed to be legal residents of the same state as their parents.
  • Residence in Florida must be for the purpose of establishing a permanent home and not merely incident to enrollment at an institution of higher education.

COPIES OF DOCUMENTATION

A copy of you and your parents’ most recent tax transcript or other documentation may be requested to establish dependence/independence.

  • DEPENDENT: A person for whom 50% or more of his/her support is provided by another as defined by the IRS.
  • INDEPENDENT: A person who provides more than 50% of his/her support.

A copy of a marriage license is required in all cases of a spouse claiming a partner’s residency.

Veterans Benefits

USF is approved for the education of veterans, eligible dependents, members of the selected reserve, and active-duty personnel who are eligible for benefits under public laws now in effect. All degree programs currently offered at USF are approved by the Department of Veterans Affairs.

How to Apply
Students who may be eligible for benefits are urged to contact the Office of Veterans Success at https://www.usf.edu/student-affairs/veterans/. Once admitted, peer counselors will guide the student veteran through the process of requesting Veterans Educational Benefits through our online Clockworks system. You can contact the Office of Veterans Success at ovs@usf.edu or come by the office at ALN 190 or call 813-974-2291.

Eligibility
To be eligible for full-time VA benefits at USF, undergraduate students must enroll for 12 or more semester hours, and graduate students must enroll for 9 or more semester hours each normal academic term. Additional information for obtaining education benefits can be found at https://www.usf.edu/student-affairs/veterans/admissions/pathway-to-admission.aspx

Out-of-State Waiver
HB 7015-Florida GI Bill, created the “Congressman C.W. Bill Young Tuition Waiver Program.” This will waive out-of-state tuition fees for honorably discharged veterans of the U.S. Armed Forces, Reserves, or National Guard who physically reside in Florida while enrolled at an institution in the State University System of Florida. Persons who are entitled to and use educational assistance provided by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs also qualify for this waiver if they physically reside in Florida while enrolled at the University. Tuition and fees charged to a veteran or person who qualifies for the out-of-state fee waiver under this section may not exceed the tuition and fees charged to a resident student enrolled in the same program. Information on requirements and deadlines for the Out-of-State Waiver is found at https://www.usf.edu/student-affairs/veterans/admissions/out-of-state-waiver.aspx. For more information regarding residency for tuition purposes and residency tuition waiver exceptions visit: https://www.usf.edu/registrar/resources/residency.aspx or email residency@usf.edu.

Tuition Deferment
The tuition deferment program for Veterans is set up through USF and the VA. Due to VA payments being delayed at times, a tuition deferment gives the student and the VA an extra 90 days past the start of the semester to pay for a student’s tuition and fees. See Veterans Benefits and Transition Act of 2018, Section 103 PL 115-407.

Special Populations Waiver

Out of State Waiver Eligibility Process: Bill HB 851-Postsecondary Education Tuition and Fees (https://www.usf.edu/registrar/resources/forms.aspx) allows students, including but not limited undocumented students who meet certain guidelines, to receive waivers to attend college at Florida resident (in-state) tuition rates. These non-resident students, who do not have sufficient ties to Florida as set forth under Florida School Code (SB-20E) section 1009.21, Florida Statutes, may qualify for an out-of-state tuition waiver.

Child Protection & Welfare Tuition Exemption: Section 402.403, Florida Statutes, established the Child Protection and Child Welfare Personnel Tuition Exemption Program for the purpose of recruiting and retaining high-performing individuals who are employed as child protection and child welfare personnel. For those personnel who meet the requirements of the program up to six credit hours of courses per term are exempt from the payment of tuition and fees at an institution in the State University System of Florida.

For more information regarding residency for tuition purposes and residency tuition waiver exceptions visit: https://www.usf.edu/registrar/resources/residency.aspx or email residency@usf.edu.

For more information about exceptional categories, contact the Admissions Office (813-974-3350), the Office of the Registrar (813-974-2000), or the Office of the General Counsel (813-974-2131).

School Costs and Fees

Tuition and fees are based on a number of factors, including undergraduate or graduate status, residency and the type of housing chosen. However, even if you live out of state, our costs often competitive with the in-state rates at your local university. The Cost of Attendance charts provide estimated expenses for a full time student based on residency and living arrangements. The amounts are used in awarding financial aid funds. As these are estimates, please note that if you enroll less than full time, the amounts will be reduced to reflect lower costs. Compare costs at https://www.usf.edu/financial-aid/cost-of-attendance/

Students Living On-Campus

  Full-Time Tuition and fees Housing/Meals Books/Supplies Other Expenses* Total
Florida Resident $6,410 $11,610 $1,200 $4,100 $23,320
Out-of-State Resident $17,324 $11,610 $1,200 $4,100 $34,234

https://www.usf.edu/financial-aid/cost-of-attendance/1920-students-living-on-campus.aspx

Students Living Off-Campus with Parents

  Full-Time Tuition and fees Housing/Meals Books/Supplies Other Expenses* Total
Florida Resident $6,410 $4,910 $1,200 $4,100 $16,620
Out-of-State Resident $17,324 $4,910 $1,200 $4,100 $27,534

https://www.usf.edu/financial-aid/cost-of-attendance/1920-coa-students-living-with-parents.aspx

Students Living Off-Campus Not with Parents

  Full-Time Tuition and fees Housing/Meals Books/Supplies Other Expenses* Total
Florida Resident $6,410 $9,820 $1,200 $4,100 $21,530
Out-of-State Resident $17,324 $9,820 $1,200 $4,100 $32,444

https://www.usf.edu/financial-aid/cost-of-attendance/1920-students-living-off-campus-not-with-parents.aspx

Fees

The levels of the Activity and Service Fee, the Health Fee, and the Athletic fee are determined on each campus by a student fee committee appointed by the President of the University and the Student Government President. The committee includes USF faculty and students with the majority of the committee being students. The fees may be reviewed on a yearly basis.

Registration fees are assessed in accordance with University Board of Trustees rules. All fees are subject to change without prior notice. The University will make every effort to advertise any such changes if they occur.

  1. Admissions Application Fee – (Each application - not refundable) $30.00
  2. Non-Degree Application Fee – (Each application - not refundable) $30.00
  3. Tuition

Schedule/Fee Statements are not mailed. Tuition is due by the fifth day of each term. Students may view and/or pay their current term fees online by accessing the “Tuition, Fees & Payments” option in OASIS - https://webauth.usf.edu.

The student is responsible for paying fees in full by the appropriate due date as stated at https://www.usf.edu/business-finance/controller/student-services/deadline-dates.aspx. Failure to do so may result in cancellation of the student’s registration. Checks are payable to USF.

To avoid a $100.00 late payment fee, all tuition fees must be paid or postmarked by the U.S. Post Office, not office metered, by the fifth day of the term. The University cannot be responsible for lost or misdirected U.S. Mail. A student whose registration has been cancelled may request registration reinstatement through the fourth week of class for the academic term.

Note: All students who successfully petition for reinstatement from financial cancellation due to non-payment will be assessed a $100 late registration fee along with a $100 late payment fee. Upon approval for reinstatement, all fees and other debts owed to the University must be paid in full by cash, money order, check or credit card before reinstatement will be affected.

Current fees are posted on the OASIS website.

  1. Students who only register for a co-op assignment must pay a minimum of one (1) hour at the level of the co-op assignment.
  2. Tuition Fee Payment - Access the “Tuition Fees and Payments” option in OASIS at https://webauth.usf.edu.
  3. Late Registration Fee
  • All degree seeking students who initiate (i.e., those students who have not enrolled for any courses during early or regular registration) their registration during the late registration period will be automatically assessed a $100.00 late registration fee.
  • All non-degree seeking students who have not registered for any courses by the end of the first week of classes will be automatically assessed a $100.00 late registration fee.
  • All students who successfully petition for late registration into a course or for reinstatement from financial cancellation due to non-payment will be automatically assessed a $100.00 late registration fee.
  1. Financial Aid Disbursement
    Upon satisfaction of eligibility criteria, financial aid will be credited to student accounts after the drop/add period is over. Monies in excess of charges will be electronically deposited to each student’s checking account via eDeposit, or checks will be mailed to student’s local address. Students are encouraged to setup an eDeposit account in OASIS.
     
  2. Cancellation for Non-Payment of Fees
    Students not on an authorized deferred payment of fees and who have not paid their tuition and fees in full by the applicable bill due date will have their registration for that term cancelled. This means, specifically, that a student will receive no credit for any courses taken during that term.
     
  3. Intern Certificate of Participation
    Individuals who have supervised interns may register for courses during a term by presenting their intern Certificate of Participation. The Intern Participation Certificate states that certificate holders are entitled to a waiver of only matriculation fees for a maximum of six (6) credit hours instruction during a single term. Certificates are valid for three years from the date of issuance.

    Fees must be paid or postmarked by the U.S. Post Office (not office meter marked) by the fifth day of the term. The University cannot be responsible for lost or misdirected U.S. Mail.
     
  4. Employee Tuition Program
    The USF Employee Tuition Program authorizes full-time USF employees who are appointed to established positions, to enroll in USF credit courses, up to six credit hours per semester. Summer terms A, B, and C are all part of one semester. Employees must be appointed prior to the first day of class and is expected to be employed full-time past the end of the semester for which they are enrolled.
     
  5. Tuition Deferment for VA Students
    Students receiving VA benefits, who have applied in writing no later than the date specified by the Office of Veteran Success, have until the VA deferment bill due date to pay tuition in full. If the application is late, students are not eligible for a deferment and could be dropped from classes and receive late fees.
     
  6. Florida Prepaid College Program
    Students who are eligible to receive benefits under this program may be responsible for the local fees, differential fees, and other fees depending upon which Florida Prepaid plan they are enrolled in.
     
  7. Mailed Payments
    To avoid cancellation of registration or a $100.00 Late Payment Fee, all fee payments must be postmarked by the U.S. Post Office (not office metered) by the applicable fee payment deadline.
     
  8. Returned Registration Checks
    A student’s current registration is subject to cancellation if the check presented in payment of those fees is returned to the University unpaid. Dishonored fee payment checks must be redeemed within 10 calendar days to avoid cancellation of a student’s current registration. A $100.00 Late Payment Fee and a $25.00 administrative charge will be assessed on any registration check returned unpaid to the University.

Payment of Accounts Due to the University

Charges against students for loss or breakage of University equipment, books, fines and other charges are due immediately. Delinquent accounts may be considered sufficient cause for cancellation of registration. University regulations prohibit registration and the release of transcripts and diplomas for any student whose account with the University is delinquent. Delinquent accounts may be turned over to a collection agency and all collection fees including legal fees will be added to the student account balance. Financial aid from a succeeding academic year cannot be used to repay prior academic year debts.

Payments should be made by the appropriate deadline and can be:

  • Brought into the Cashier’s Office in the Student Services Building (SVC 1039)
  • Mailed to the University of South Florida, P.O. Box 864571, Orlando, FL 32886-4571
  • Made online by accessing OASIS

Payment Procedures

Payment must be received or postmarked no later than the fee payment deadlines as specified on the Important Dates & Deadlines page - https://www.usf.edu/registrar/calendars/.

The primary form of payment of most account holders is on-line through OASIS via the myUSF portal. Students can pay using a check or a credit card in this system. Payments cannot be transacted by telephone.

Acceptable Forms of Payment

USF accepts online credit/debit cards or eCheck in your OASIS account, via postal mail by check or money order, or in person by check or cash. For complete details, please visit the University Controller’s Office at https://www.usf.edu/business-finance/controller/student-services/cashiers/index.aspx.

If your bill is to be paid by an outside agency (government sponsor or other third-party sponsor), your scholarship agency should notify the University in advance by letter stating the amount and length of time of the award and whom to bill for tuition. Keep the original copy in case the immigration officer at the port-of-entry or the University Cashier’s Office requests it.

  • eCheck (recommended) – check payments can be made in OASIS by entering the routing and account number from your checking account paper checks.
  • Benefits: There is no additional cost to pay using this method and payments post immediately.
  • Credit Card – MasterCard, American Express, and Discover credit card payments can be made in OASIS.  A 2.5% convenience fee will be charged.
  • Mailed Check/Money Order – Checks and money orders (with student ID included) can be mailed to the address below.  Please allow sufficient time for the checks to be received before the due date:

University of South Florida
P.O. Box 864571
Orlando, FL 32886-4571

  • Cashier’s Office – Cash and check payments can be made in the Cashier’s Office in the Student Services Building – SVC 1039

If you have questions regarding charges or payments on your student account or questions about your 1098-T (https://www.usf.edu/business-finance/controller/student-services/accountsreceivable/1098t.aspx) please call 813-974-6056 or email SFSHELP@USF.EDU. You can also visit SVC 1039 on the Tampa campus.

  Location: Mailing Address:
  Student Service Building, UCO-Student Accounting
  Tampa Campus SVC 1039 University of South Florida
  Mail Point: ALN 147 4202 E. Fowler Ave, ALN 147
    Tampa, FL 33620

Other Forms of Payment

Tuition and fees may be partially or completely paid by Financial Aid, Florida Prepaid, tuition waivers, or departmental grants. The student is responsible to pay any amount that is not covered by these types of payments by the applicable due date.

Financial Aid

For details on how financial aid works at USF, visit https://www.usf.edu/financial-aid/know-this/index.aspx.

Due to federal regulations, there are restrictions on what financial aid information can be discuss with students and/or their parents over the phone and via email. Students are now required to present a photo ID when visiting the Financial Aid Office. If a dependent student, the student must have a completed Privacy Release for Dependent Students on file annually in order for financial aid information to be released to parent(s). These restrictions protect the student’s personal financial information and assure that only the student has access to the financial aid record.

Florida Prepaid College Plan

The University of South Florida downloads a file from Florida Prepaid and automatically bills for all Florida Prepaid College students with tuition plans that are enrolled for Fall, Spring and/or Summer terms. Dorm plans are billed for students with dorm charges for Fall and Spring terms only. Payment is limited to the maximum amount allowed of the student’s available prepaid plan balance.

To determine the student’s portion of the fees, use the form at https://www.usf.edu/business-finance/controller/student-services/student-accounting/florida_prepaid_worksheet.pdf. Find the number of hours registered for in the hour’s column, and then find the amount under the student’s prepaid plan. Subtract the amount that prepaid will cover from the balance of the Fee Assessment on OASIS. The student is responsible for the difference. The amount prepaid is estimated to pay can also be viewed in the memo section of the account summary by term on OASIS. The student’s portion of the tuition not covered by Florida Prepaid is due by the Financial Aid deferment deadline of the semester. Payment deadlines can be found at https://www.usf.edu/business-finance/controller/student-services/deadline-dates.aspx

For questions concerning USF procedures or student account, contact the customer service department:

Email: SFShelp@usf.edu
Phone: (813) 974-6056

Florida Bright Futures

The Florida Bright Futures Scholarship Program (https://www.floridastudentfinancialaidsg.org/SAPBFMAIN/SAPBFMAIN) rewards students for their academic achievements during high school by providing funding for them to pursue post-secondary educational and career goals in Florida.

For more information on this program, including details on how to receive funding at USF, visit: https://www.usf.edu/financial-aid/brightfutures/index.aspx.

Homeless Fee Exemption

Florida Statue 1009.25(f)
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=1000-1099/1009/Sections/1009.25.html

A student who is homeless may be exempt from paying tuition and fees. The statute defines a homeless student as one who “lacks a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence or whose primary nighttime residence is a public or private shelter designed to provide temporary residence for individuals intended to be institutionalized, or a public or private place not designed for, or ordinarily used as, a regular sleeping accommodation for human beings.”

If you think you may be eligible for the homeless exemption, you should speak with your Case Manager or Homeless Liaison Officer from the shelter or with a case manager from USF Student Outreach and Support (https://www.usf.edu/student-affairs/student-outreach-support/). Student Outreach and Support can be reached at (813) 974-6130.

Tuition Waivers

USF may waive tuition and fees as follows:

  • Any dependent child of a special risk member killed in the line of duty, per Sections 112.19 and 112.191, Florida Statutes.
  • Certain members of active Florida National Guard are entitled to a waiver of tuition and fees pursuant to Section 250.10, Florida Statutes.
  • A student enrolled through the Florida Linkage Institutes Program is entitled to a waiver of the non-resident tuition and fees pursuant to Section 288.8175(6), Florida Statutes.
  • Intern supervisors for institutions within the State University System may be given one non-transferable certificate (fee waiver) for each full academic term during which the person serves as an intern supervisor, pursuant to 1009.26, Florida Statutes.
  • Persons 60 years of age or older who are Florida residents, as provided by Chapter 1009.26, Florida Statutes.
  • A student who is or was at the time he or she reached 18 years of age in the custody of the Department of Children and Families or who, after spending at least 6 months in the custody of the department after reaching 16 years of age, was placed in a guardianship by the court. Or a student who is or was at the time he or she reached 18 years of age in the custody of a relative or nonrelative under s. 39.5085 or who was adopted from the Department of Children and Families after May 5, 1997, pursuant to Chapter 1009.25, Florida Statutes.
  • Purple Heart recipients pursuant to Chapter 1009.26, Florida Statutes.
  • Non-Florida resident fee for qualified students including the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA), as provided by Chapter 1009.26, Florida Statutes.
  • Non-Florida resident fee for a veteran; C.W. “Bill” Young Veteran Tuition Waiver, as provided in Chapter 1009.26, Florida Statutes.

Waivers can be brought in person to Tampa Campus SVC 1039 or mailed to:

UCO-Student Accounting
University of South Florida
4202 E. Fowler Ave ALN 147
Tampa, FL 33620

The non-Florida student financial aid fee may not be waived for students receiving an out-of-state tuition and fee waiver.

Third Party Billings

Third party billing is a service offered to outside agencies\companies requesting to be invoiced for a student’s tuition and fees. A third party cannot be an individual (i.e. a student’s parent).  If you are a student and are expecting an outside agency to pay for your tuition and fees, the Student Accounting Office must be provided with an authorization to bill that agency.

An authorization is a written statement, preferably on agency letterhead, giving the University permission to bill that agency. An authorization should contain the following information:

  • Billing Address
  • Contact person (name, phone number, e-mail)
  • Student’s full name and U#
  • Specific semesters that will be paid
  • Specific charges that will be paid

Examples of authorizations include: Vocational Rehabilitation authorizations, financial letters of guarantee, tuition assistance forms, letters of credit, and vouchers.

QUESTIONS? Email questions related to third party billing to ThirdParty@usf.edu.

Senior Citizens Tuition 

Florida residents 60 years of age or older prior to the first day of classes in the term of registration may enroll on a space available basis in certain undergraduate and graduate courses without paying fees.

Eligible Senior Citizens must supply their registration materials to the Registrar’s Office by the 5th business day of the semester. No registrations will be processed on Tampa Campus after the 6th business day of the term. Class registrations affected via OASIS prior to the Senior Citizen Registration date will incur a non-waiveable fee liability.

New Senior Citizen students, or who have not enrolled at USF in the past 3 consecutive terms, must provide two forms of state-issued identification (Driver’s License; Voter Registration; Vehicle Registration) with their registration materials. The Senior Citizen Tuition Waiver Program is limited to bonafide residents of Florida. Persons shall be considered Florida Residents provided they have resided and held domicile in the state for at least twelve months immediately preceding the first day of classes for the term. This data is validated through state-issued documents.

Senior Citizen students are required to purchase parking permits to park on campus.

Many courses require college/departmental approval, prerequisites or have other restrictions which limit registration. Senior citizen students must acquire any necessary permits in advance of registration by contacting the department offering the course directly.

Senior Citizen students who are enrolled for classes which require their physical presence on campus must complete and submit the Medical History Form. Failure to submit the required documentation will block registration.

State Employee Six-Hours-Free Course Benefit

Admitted USF degree-seeking or non-degree seeking students who are employed by the State of Florida may apply to waive tuition up to a maximum of 6 credit hours (excluding selected directed individual study or research, internship practicum, music & theatre performance, Cooperative education, PACE, lifelong learning, continuing education and correspondence courses).

Tuition waivers are applicable only if the student adheres to the restriction to delay registering at USF until two business days after 5 p.m. before the start of the semester.

State employees must also acquire all necessary employer approvals on the state employee Tuition Waiver Request form. For more information, visit https://www.usf.edu/business-finance/controller/student-services/student-accounting/waivers-state.aspx

State employees, like all other USF students, register via OASIS but only on or after 5 p.m. two business days before the first day of classes each term. For example, state employee students register after 5 p.m. on Thursday preceding the first day of a semester when classes begin on a Monday. Any state employee who registers at any time before the approved this registration start- time and day forfeits eligibility to use the State Employee Tuition Waiver and will be held fully liable for all USF tuition and fees.

Tuition Waiver Request forms must be completed and returned to the USF Student Accounting Office by the fourth day of class to avoid the $100 Late Payment Fee and potential class cancellation. State of Florida employees, who are not employed by the Florida State University System, will earn taxable income equal to the value of tuition waived for both undergraduate and graduate level courses. Since the value of tuition waived is taxable, it is subject to Federal Income Tax, Social Security and Medicare taxes (FICA), and reported to the Department of Financial Services, Bureau of State Payrolls; each term by the appropriate Division of Human Resources sees that all appropriate taxes are withheld.

Since tuition rates for Florida residents are lower than rates for non-residents, it is important for all state employees utilizing Tuition Waiver Request forms to verify their residency status is correct.

Direct Deposit

  1. Tuition is due at the end of the fifth day of classes each term for all students.
  2. Financial aid is paid on the sixth day of classes after enrollment is confirmed.
  3. If students do not have a tuition deferment or have not paid their bill by the end of the fifth day of classes, their enrollment will be cancelled.
  4. Any balance remaining will either be e-deposited to your personal bank account, (Log into OASIS to sign up for E-Deposit) or the Cashier’s Office will mail a check to the address listed for the student in OASIS.

Refund of Tuition/Fees Payment Release of Tuition/Fees Liability

The following refunds, less deductions for unpaid debts to the University, are authorized. A Refund Request Form (https://www.usf.edu/business-finance/controller/student-services/student-accounting/refund_request.pdf) must be completed and presented to the Cashier’s Office, SVC 1039, to initiate the refund process. A two-week waiting period is observed for each refund to be sure checks have cleared.

  1. 100 percent of registration fees and tuition will be refunded if notice of withdrawal from the University is approved prior to the end of drop/add period and written documentation is received from the student.
  2. 25 percent of registration fees and tuition paid less building and capital improvement fees, will be refunded if notice of withdrawal from all courses from the University is approved prior to the end of the fourth week of classes (summer term is prior to the end of the third week of classes) and written documentation is received from the student.

Fee Adjustment Request After Fifth Day of the Term

One-hundred percent (100%) of tuition and fees will be refunded if, within six (6) months of the end of the semester to which the refund is applicable, a student who has withdrawn or dropped a course completes and files with the Registrar’s office a Fee Adjustment Request Form (https://www.usf.edu/registrar/documents/forms/fee-adjust-form2018.pdf) citing circumstances outside of the student’s control which are confirmed and approved by the Registrar. Circumstances to be considered within this six month period include:

  1. Illness of a student of such severity or duration, as confirmed in writing by a physician, to preclude completion of the course(s),
  2. Death of the student or death in the immediate family (parent, spouse, child or sibling),
  3. Active military duty,
  4. University error, or
  5. Other documented exceptional circumstances beyond the control of the student which precluded completion of the course(s) accompanied by letter of explanation.

Special requests for an extension of the six (6) month deadline must include specific facts indicating special circumstances which (i) were beyond the control of the student (ii) clearly impaired the student’s physical or mental ability to correct their academic/financial record at the University and (iii) are supported by written explanation and verifiable documentation.

Pursuant to Public Law 102-325, the Higher Education Amendments of 1992, students attending the University for the first time who withdraw are entitled to a pro rata refund of tuition, fees, room and board.

A student who receives financial aid and subsequently changes the enrollment status which results in a refund in accordance with this section, will have the appropriate share of the refund returned to the University’s financial aid programs in accordance with the Financial Aid Policy on Refunds and Repayments.

The University of South Florida will approve a waiver of the Late Payment fee if the student is unable to make payment on time due to circumstances determined by the University to be exceptional and beyond the control of the student. A Late Payment Fee Waiver Request Form (https://www.usf.edu/business-finance/controller/student-services/late_pay_waiver.pdf) may be completed and submitted to the Cashier’s Office, SVC 1039.

Past Due Accounts

The University will cancel the registration of a student whose registration fees have not been paid in full by the deadline as indicated on the Registrar’s Important Dates & Deadlines website (https://www.usf.edu/registrar/calendars/index.aspx). This means, specifically, that a student will receive no credit for any courses taken during that term. This includes students that registered for Alternative Calendar courses using OASIS and courses that start prior to the first week of classes.

If the student is only taking Alternative Calendar courses that were not registered using OASIS and have a start date after the first week of classes, register after the first week of classes or have an authorized deferred payment of fees, their registration may not be cancelled.

Late Fees

Late Payment Fees apply to students who do not pay their fees or obtain a full fee deferment by the payment deadline. The Late Payment Fee is $100 per term.

Late Registration Fees are charged to students who enroll following the close of the regular registration period for the term, who re-register, or who enroll for the first time during Late Registration and Drop/Add period. The Late Registration Fee is $100.00 per term.

Both a Late Payment Fee and a Late Registration Fee are charged to students who are dropped for non-payment.

Summer term is divided into sessions, and the late fee is charged per session.

Auditing Privileges and Fees

Only an admitted student may register to audit a course; as an auditor, the student is not allowed to take exams, earn grades, or receive credit. The student’s status for that class is an audit. The student’s presence in the classroom is as a listener, which means an instructor may limit auditing student’s participation in class, including class projects and other interactive, graded or ungraded activities. For more information see, http://regulationspolicies.usf.edu/policies-and-procedures/pdfs/policy-10-006.pdf.

Audit status may only be obtained at the Office of the Registrar and only during the first five days of the term by filing a Course Audit Form (https://www.usf.edu/registrar/documents/forms/course-audit-form.pdf). A date-stamped permit from the college/department where the course is being offered must accompany a Course Audit Form to the Office of the Registrar. In-state fees are assessed for all audited courses.

Cancellation before First Class Day

Students who do not drop a class via OASIS before the term begins may only cancel their registration by notifying the Office of the Registrar in writing prior to the first day of classes. For more information, see https://www.usf.edu/business-finance/controller/student-services/cancellation.aspx.

If fees have already been paid, the student may request a full refund of fees from the Cashier’s Office.

Excess Hours Surcharge

BOG Regulation 7.003 (21)
https://www.flbog.edu/documents_regulations/regulations/7_003FeesfinespenaltiesregulationFINAL6_21_12.pdf
USF System Regulation 4.0107
http://regulationspolicies.usf.edu/regulations/pdfs/regulation-usf4.0107.pdf see item 6

The Excess Credit Hour Surcharge is a state mandated fee that requires universities to add a surcharge to each credit hour that is more than 110% of hours needed for completion of your degree or 132 hours for 120 credit hour degree programs. An Excess Hour Fee shall be assessed to designated undergraduate students pursuant to the provisions of BOG Regulation 7.003(21).

The surcharge is assessed only on the tuition portion of the semester hour cost, not on the fees. The number of total program hours required for the baccalaureate degree will be identified by the student’s declared major. This is typically 120 semester hours, although, some programs have been approved to require more than 120 semester hours.

For further information, visit https://www.usf.edu/registrar/resources.

No institution may waive the excess hours surcharge; the language of the statute is mandatory.

Repeat Course Surcharges

Section 1009.285 of Florida Statutes
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=1000-1099/1009/Sections/1009.285.html

A student enrolled in the same undergraduate college-credit course more than twice shall pay tuition at 100 percent of the full cost of instruction and shall not be included in calculations of full-time equivalent enrollments for state funding purposes. However, students who withdraw or fail a class due to extenuating circumstances may be granted an exception only once for each class, provided that approval is granted according to policy established by the Florida College System institution board of trustees or the university board of trustees. Each Florida College System institution and state university may review and reduce fees paid by students due to continued enrollment in a college-credit class on an individual basis contingent upon the student’s financial hardship. For purposes of this section, first-time enrollment in a class shall mean enrollment in a class beginning fall semester 1997, and calculations of the full cost of instruction shall be based on the system wide average of the prior year’s cost of undergraduate programs for the Florida College System institutions and the state universities. Boards of trustees may make exceptions to this section for individualized study, elective coursework, courses that are repeated as a requirement of a major, and courses that are intended as continuing over multiple semesters, excluding the repeat of coursework more than two times to increase grade point average or meet minimum course grade requirements.

The University may grant exceptions to this rule based on extenuating circumstances and financial hardship. However, the University may only approve one appeal per course. The exceptions included in the Statute are extenuating circumstances and financial hardship and are defined as follows:

Extenuating circumstances are those circumstances determined by the University to be exceptional and beyond the control of the student and may include but not be limited to serious illness, death of an immediate family member (parent, step-parents, spouse, child, sibling, or grandparents), orders for active duty; or University error. In all cases, supporting documentation must be submitted with the request for a waiver of this surcharge.

The criteria used by the universities for determining financial hardship should include, but not be limited to, qualification for federal need-based financial aid. Students with other documented financial hardships may also be considered.

For consideration, the student must fill out a Repeat Course Surcharge Waiver (see https://www.usf.edu/registrar/documents/forms/fee-adjust-form2018.pdf) and provide supporting documentation. Submit the completed form with documentation to the Office of the Registrar (https://www.usf.edu/registrar/).